Since 1989, HTAI has awarded a medal each year, to the student whom the Department of Education and Science deems to have achieved the highest mark in Leaving Certificate History.


In 1999, it was renamed the Deirdre Clancy Medal, to mark Deirdre's retirement as Assistant Chief Advising Examiner at Leaving Certificate level.


Deirdre Clancy Medal Winner 2016


Megan McAuley of Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny was the 2016 winner of the   Deirdre Clancy Medal  having gained the highest mark in the Leaving Cert History exam 2016. The medal was presented to Megan by the H.T.A.I. President, Niamh Crowley at a ceremony in the school in Friday 10th February 2017. Megan is now studying History, Irish, English and Spanish at NUI Maynooth. She has also been awarded an Entrance award in Maynooth and a J.P. McManus Scholarship for her overall excellent leaving Cert. results, but she said she was honoured to receive this special award for History. Her History teacher Sena McCreanor was particularly delighted that Megan had won this award for the Leaving Cert. in the centenary year of 2016.


Sena McCreanor (History teacher), Deirdre Clancy medal winner Megan McAuley.



Nora Friel (Principal), Sena McCreanor (History teacher), Mrs. McAuley (mother),

       Megan McAuley, Mr. McAuley (father), Niamh Crowley ( HTAI President).


 Sena McCreanor (History teacher), Megan McAuley, Niamh Crowley ( HTAI President)


Click here for photos of some previous winners


 Student  School    Further Education Teacher
Helena Ní Rocháin  Coláiste Íde, An Daingean, Co Chiarraí  Iriseoireacht, Oll L  Cliodhna Ní Chonchúir
2014  Eva Jones  St Vincent's School, Dundalk, Co Louth  Medicine, TCD  
 2013  John Moroney Presentation Secondary School, Headford,
Co Galway
Theoretical Physics, TCD  James Shovelin
Fiona Tuffy
2012  Aoife Barry  Our Lady of Mercy Secondary School, Waterford  Arts, NUIG  Ann Marie Mullally
2011  Éanna Kelly Coláiste Iognáid, Gaillimh  History & Irish  Seán Ó Flathartha
2010 David Lynch  Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh, Baile an Easpaig, Cathair Chorcaí  Philosophy & English, TCD  David Cramer
 2009  Jesse Harrington  Presentation Brothers’ College, Cork History and Economics,  UCC Michael Dunphy
2008 Philippa de Faoite Coláiste Íosagáin, An Charraig Dhubh, Co Átha Cliath Law, UCD Seán Delap
2007  Kim O'Dowd St Louis Sec. School, Monaghan  Law, UCD  Jim Gannon
2006 Padraic Lamb Clonkeen College, Blackrock, Co Dublin Arts, UCD John Keogh
2005   Eoin Mulroy  Marist College,
Athlone, Co. Westmeath
 Medicine, UCD  Con O'Meara
 2004 John Gerard Murphy  Blackrock College, Co. Dublin  Science, TCD Andy Carroll
2003  Marian Ryan  Presentation Secondary
School, Clonmel, Co Tipperary
 Law and Accounting, UL Mary O'Connell
2002  Sarah Fox  St Mary's School,
Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Arts and Media Studies  Granú Dwyer
2001  Desmond Ryan  High School, Rathgar, Dublin 6 Law, TCD Patricia Graham
2000 Shane Reynolds  Marist College, Athlone,
Co Westmeath
 Law, TCD Ray Linnane
1999 Pádraigh O'Connell St Michael's College,
Listowell, Co Kerry
B.Ed., Mary Immaculate College, UL  John Moynihan
1998 Gerald Scully CBS Roscrea, Co. Tipperary  Rathmines School of Journalism,
Stephen Crofton