Threat to History in Schools

Threat To School History H.T.A.I. is very concerned that proposals outlined in the Framework Document, published by the Minister for Education and Skills, will result in the removal of History from the core of subjects for the Junior Cert., where it has been for the vast majority of students since the foundation of the state. Latest […]


Chairperson:     Grainne Henry     P.R.O:        CJoan Morrissey        Treasurer         Eillen Murphy          Contact:  


Kieran McTaggart of Loreto school Milford, Co. Donegal  would like to start a branch of H.T.A.I. in Donegal and would like to hear from teachers who are interested. Any interested teachers should  email him at and he will include you on the mailing list.

CEC & Officers

CEC & Officers   Officers of the History Teachers’ Association of Ireland 2020/2021   President:                   Granú Dwyer                                      St Mary’s Secondary School               […]


Waterford   Waterford Branch Committee 2017/8   Chair: John Bosco Tobin  – Vice Chair: Gerard Hanlon – Secretary: Niamh Crowley – Treasurer: Anne Marie Mullally – mullallyam C.E.C. Delegates: Niamh Crowley, Gerard Hanlon, Anne Marie Mullally                           Substitute delegate: John Bosco Tobin Committee: Thomas Ahern, Niamh Crowley, Angela Goff, Gerard […]

North Munster

North Munster OFFICERS Chairperson: Shane Fitzgerald, Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré, Roscrea, Tipperary Secretary:   Granú Dwyer, St Mary’s Sec. School, Nenagh, Tipperary PRO:            Shane Fitzgerald, Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré, Roscrea, Tipperary Treasurer:   Derval Ryan, Salesian Secondary School, Pallaskenry,   Co.Limerick E-mail:  


Galway OFFICERS 2017-2018   Secretary: Sandra Connolly, Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew, Co. Galway. Treasurer: Carmel Costello,  Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew, Co. Galway  


  Dublin Officers: Chairperson:     Cora O’Dwyer     Tallaght Community School, Dublin 24  Secretary:        Marie-Claire Tuite   Dominican College Muckross Park, Donnybrook, Dublin 4.       Membership Secretary – Karen Brady, Colaiste na Mi, Johnstown, Navan, Co. Meath Treasurer         Deirdre MacMathuna    Dominican College Muckross Park, Donnybrook, Dublin 4     Contact:  Committee:       Brianán McGrane, Cora O’Dwyer, Déirdre Mac Mathúna, […]


Membership What are the advantages of membership? The HTAI: organises in-service courses for teachers on history content and teaching methods. represents history teachers on the NCCA Course Committees and liases with the department of Education on behalf of history and history teaching. monitors and seeks improvements in history examination papers. organises lectures and quizzes for […]


Awards Since 1989, HTAI has awarded a medal each year, to the student whom the Department of Education and Science deems to have achieved the highest mark in Leaving Certificate History.   In 1999, it was renamed the Deirdre Clancy Medal, to mark Deirdre’s retirement as Assistant Chief Advising Examiner at Leaving Certificate level.   […]